Clean your plate, save the world?

While browsing the news on the internet today, I came across this article about wasted food on Yahoo.com http://news.yahoo.com/clean-plate-save-world-171105362.html

I know we waste food at an alarming rate, but this is not needed.  What we need are the supermarkets to provide smaller packaged items, as the same price per item as in the big packs.  Forget the BOGOF (Buy one get one free) – and just half the price of the original items, then we can decide on how many we need in our trolley.

I am currently in Malaysia and there seems to be very little waste, as they buy food on a daily basis for the little cafe / restaurants etc, as when go past them after they have closed up for the day, all I see outside the shop ready for the refuse collectors – are the scraps they CANNOT use, e.g. Egg Shells, skins of fruits and veg, but nothing else no meat or vegs in these bags.

When they have run out of something at a restaurant, as my local indian makes wonderful Marsala Dosas, they stop selling.  The same with the street vendor get to him late and all the samonosas are gone.  Again once he has used up all his mix for the day and he has sold them, he closes up and goes home.

They also sell bananas that in the western world would be thrown out, because they are ripe, but here they taste wonderful, creamy, full of flavour and amazing.  In this shop where I used to get the bananas, some of them are almost black, but they are the best.  The under ripe ones we are used to getting in the western world are horrible in comparison.

In my household, I have had at times very little food, and when you are unemployed you get to eat EVERYTHING in the cupboard, and when you go and buy food as money is tight, you learn how to use food wisely.  I plan for the week, froze what I had left over for next week, when the money was really tight.  It’s all a matter of education, it’s a shame they have stopped home economics class in schools, where they used to each you to cook, and that would stop your wasting food and money.

Also when I was working shifts on a rail line, the weekends were 12 hour working, which was fine, but for the friday, saturday and sunday I used to take a chili or spaghetti mix into work, and reheat it via the microwave.  My work colleagues used to get pre packed food, or sandwiches for their whole day.  The sad thing is that the chilli took around 20-30 minutes to prepare and cook, and it probably took them that time to go to the supermarket and get the food, and the nutritional value, mmmm Open to debate.

My colleagues said where did you get this, I said I made it, as the smell was amazing compared to their meals.  It’s all about a little preparation in advance.  All I know is that I had better food than them.  Sadly they never changed their lunches over the 3 years I was working with them.  I do know of one person who only had prepackaged meals the same every time and he was sick for a lot of it, or complaining of the cold, and this was down I am sure to his diet.

Eat Smaller portions, buy only what you need and use food wisely

Leave a Reply

