Dropping out of main stream life

A friend of mine made this statement last night

“It is so great that you have managed to travel for so long”

My reply to her was

me traveling for so long?, well it was a 5 month trip initially, now it is the start of month 15.  things get a little scary on the finances from time to time, this being one of those times, I know it will work itself out just in time to pay a bill etc.  It seemed to have worked for the past 5 years, as I have not really worried about money to much so far, but this week is a teaser and is frustrating me a bit, as I have things to come to me (money) but they are stuck in various systems and I am not getting the answers I need.  That’s enough of that.  I would like to do more traveling now, as I have been stuck in the place for too long, hopefully something will turn up soon, so I can move on to say Malacca (7 hrs from here).

Once you take yourself out of main stream life e.g. Job, fixed house, fixed friends, it’s amazing what happens, you get new friends, meet great people, eat good food, see new things and enjoy life.  I have an invite from a friend of mine Sofia a Danish woman who is fun, and I may be traveling with her across the Australian outback later this year or early next year.

That’s what happens when you drop out of main stream life you forget about the 9-5 routine, the traffic jams, the paying of bills, the only thing you have to think about is yourself, what food you will have today, accommodation and where and what to do that day.  There is no one telling you what to do, e.g. go there do this and I want it by tonight.  No over time, if you want to sleep in or gt up early that’s YOUR choice.

If you stay in a backpackers style hostel, there are always people around, I have met people for just a few hours, and some a couple of weeks, some remain friends, some disappear into the world somewhere.  Best thing is ask around the place you are staying for places to eat, and quite often you will get to go out to supper with new people every night if you want to, no more dinner for one, unless you really want to do that.

So the hardest thing for anyone looking at a trip this long, is making that initial break from main stream society, going out of your comfort zone and into the unknown – Yes it scary, but fun, I do not think I could work another 9-5 job again, Monday to Friday except to earn some money for a trip to somewhere else – I have the travel bug and you cannot get rid of this one with pills, lotions or any other method only traveling cures this one.

If you want to see a what it’s like as a backpacker , or world traveler then look this up

Enjoy, as this is my 100th Blog Post Great mile stone for me

The Instructions for having a great life are:

Leave a Reply

