A Petty Thief?

So when you confront a petty thief, that is the question of the day, as I unfortunately know one as I am travelling and I do not think he really knows that he is one, or that I know about it.

So when do you say enough is enough, for example this person get free food from the charities that make it available for the “street People” of this town, they typically takes 2 portions of food twice a day once at 11am and on around 5pm. This person has enough money to buy his own food, he is certainly not on the poverty line by any means, but he chooses to do everything on the cheap or free, taking the good nature of the people around him without any care in the world to repay the debt in some way.

I know of at least two incidents where they have taken an empty water bottle and used it for their own, and this was from my bed area.  They tried to blame the cleaner, but as there were two empty bottles by the bed and only one disappeared, the cleaner would have taken both.  The by chance the very next day they had an exact same bottle as was left out mmmm I think they took it, I know he certainly did not ask, as I was saving them for me to refill from the water machine a few hours later, so why would I have given a person this bottle?

Also another traveller left a very nice towel on his bed, it stayed there for around 1-2 hours, hoping that the person would realise his mistake and come and get it.  NO this person took the towel off the bed, looked at it, and then his mate took it, folded it and put it on their bed.  The next time I saw the towel was on the washing line, and I thought that they had handed it into reception and the hotel were going to put it in their “stock” of towels for rent, but then this other person checked out and the towel “Disappeared” mmmm. The guy in question came back after 2-3 days looking for his towel, and it was nowhere to be found. From this we can determine that it was certainly was not handed into to the reception or cleaner.  No they had taken it.  The person who owned the towel even asked this person, have you seen it, he said NO he had not, so he is now a lying as well as a thief.

So when does a person stand up to this person without concrete proof, I can only say what I saw, as for the towel I did not see it go into his bag as he left, nor is there any video evidence that a crime had taken place.  It is all hearsay, e.g. their word against mine.

I know the Karma gods will get him later for his deeds, it sort of happening now, as he rarely speaks to people, he seems to have very few friends as he has made enemies in the past and certain people will not associate with him now from past experiences.

This person seems to pounce on any unattended article and takes the lot, this is a small thing, but one traveller left 3 bottle of water on the table for all to share, as he did not want to carry it with him to Thailand.  He said if you want water take it.  My friend needed water and I suggested he go an get some from the table, but they had all gone, where into this persons personal stock, he took all 3 bottles, not what he needed, but all 3 x 1.5 litres and did not leave any for any others, and this guy hardly drinks any water compared to the rest of us.

He is a hoarder of things, he wants everything that is left unattended for more than a few hours, as I am sure I have had some toothpaste go missing, as the tube was at least half full the other day, now it is almost empty, I think he has transferred some from this to his tube somehow.  I often see him looking at my items on the windowsill, I presume eyeing up what he plans to take next, which to me is a sad thing in my eyes.  They can afford a tube of toothpaste, but no he takes from others.

They go to a small Chinese’s market for his fruit and he only gets the fruit that is fit for the dustbin, you see them cutting all the bad bit out of the fruit and there is hardly anything left.  Most of us would be throwing the fruit with mold and deep bruises out, but he eats it YUK.

The other thing he was about to take from me was my washing powder, as I had done some washing and always brings back the packet to the bed area.  I had not notice it missing on the window sill, until I saw it within their pile of things, and I took it back.  He said was that yours, I said yes, they gave me a story of how I left it on the wall near the washing line, but how did he know it was mine.  I believe they took it, hid it for 1-2 days and then put it back on the window sill next to his stuff trying to claim it as his.  I knew then he was not to be trusted, as I did not believe him one bit.  The sad part of this item cost 1 ringgit, which in sterling terms is 20 Pence, even poor people have this amount of money.

So what do I do about him, confront him now or on the next time, or just let the karma gods deal with him.  The easiest way is for the Karma gods to deal with it, as do a bad deed and it will return to bite you at a later date, it’s just a shame I may never know what that return deed is.  However if I do find them taking any stuff from me from today onwards I am going to confront him and lets see what happens.  Hopefully he will be asked to leave the place we they are staying and never allowed to come back.  That would be a start.

Leave a Reply

